Like Father, Like Son

Weeks after my break-up with Jasper, I found myself still replaying our last moments together. How his angry outburst frightened me when I told him we couldn’t be together anymore. The overwhelming sadness that emanated from Jasper’s hauntingly beautiful eyes.

The more I gave of myself in any relationship, the harder it was to let it go when it reached its inevitable conclusion. Jasper had been an incredible lover, taking me to heights of pleasure I’d never dreamed existed. And yet, recalling how Jasper had sated my body’s every desire, I was reminded that there was only one man who remained my heart’s desire – Garret Jones.

Our son Kevin resembled Garret, and I had a sudden urge to see him. Kevin had met Abrielle, the love of his life, in high school. After getting engaged, they had a daughter, Kelly. I hadn’t seen them in a while, so, I called Kevin.

“Hi Kevin.”

“Hey, Mom. How you doin’?”

“I’m OK, son. What’s going on with you?”

“We’re just hangin’ around by the pool this afternoon. If you’re not busy, you should come by and visit. I’m sure Kelly would love to see her Nana.”

“I’d love that, sweetie. I’ll just make sure either Molly or Megan will be around to watch the little ones.”

“Great. Come by anytime, and don’t forget to put on a bathing suit in case you want to go for a swim.”

“Sounds good, Kevin. I’ll see you in a bit.”

Within half an hour, I was standing in Kevin’s living room. They had done well for themselves. It really was a beautiful home, with a gorgeous yard and pool. With a big, welcoming smile on his face, Kevin pulled me in for a hug. “Mom, it’s been too long.”

“I know, sweetie. I’m sorry about that.”

“Believe me, Mom, I get it. We have our hands full with just one toddler. I have no idea how you handled having triplets like Kendra, Kiley and me. I wouldn’t trade Kelly for the world, but parenthood’s not a walk in the park. You just make it look easy,” he chuckled.

Screenshot

“Speaking of Kelly, where is my granddaughter?”

“She’s upstairs in her room. Abrielle’s up there changing into her bikini and was going to bring her downstairs, but feel free to go up.”

As soon as I saw Kelly, I scooped her into my arms and snuggled her close, inhaling her fresh baby scent. She had just woken up from her nap and was content to rest her head on my shoulder for a moment.

Screenshot-1

Waking up a bit more, Kelly raised her head and looked at me only briefly and then turned toward the door. “Hi, Kelly. Remember me? It’s Nana Jill. Did you have a nice nap?”

Kelly looked at me and plopped her head back down on my shoulder. “Let’s go downstairs and see what Mommy and Daddy are doing.”

Screenshot-2

Looking through the sliding glass doors, I could see that Abrielle was in the pool and Kevin was talking to her.  Kelly and I went outside and, after saying hello to Abrielle, Kevin and I struck up a conversation.

Screenshot-3

“How did my grandbaby get to be so big? And, my goodness, she’s gorgeous. Then again, what did I expect? Abrielle is beautiful, and you’ve always been such a handsome boy.”

“I’m not a boy anymore, Mom.”

Screenshot-4

“I know, sweetheart. You look more and more like your father every day. And Garret was a very handsome man – I’m sure he still is,” she said with a melancholy lilt.

“Speaking of Dad, he still calls every now and then, you know. And he always asks about you.”

Screenshot-5

“He does? That’s … surprising after all these years.”

“Is it really, Mom? He still loves you. Probably always will. You have to know that.”

“I guess I do. And I love him, too. Still, I’d hoped that he’d moved on with his life. Found someone who could give him all the love he deserves.”

Screenshot-6

“He dates, but he hasn’t been in a serious relationship since you.”

Kelly started squirming in my arms, and I reluctantly handed her off to Abrielle so she could give her a bottle. Kevin and I followed them inside and sat down in the living room while Abrielle got the baby settled.

“You know I have no choice, Kevin.”

“I know, Mom, but honestly, I don’t know how you do it. If I had to cut Abrielle out of my life, I’d go out of my mind.” Putting his hand out to Abrielle, he said, “C’mere, babe.” He tugged her onto his lap, wrapping his arms around her and gently stroking her side. Abrielle cradled Kevin’s head on her shoulder, raking her fingers through his hair, saying softly, “That’s just so sad.”

Screenshot-7

“OK, well, now that we’re all thoroughly depressed, I should probably get going. Anyway, don’t worry about me. I’ll be fine. And no one’s going to come between you two.” Seeing Kevin and Abrielle gazing lovingly into each other’s eyes, I knew this was my cue. “It was great seeing you all and spending time with my grandbaby. Take care of yourselves. I’ll let myself out.”

As I walked toward the door, I thought I heard something, so I turned around. Kevin and Abrielle were in a passionate embrace on the couch, and I realized the sounds were soft moans as they kissed and caressed each other.

Screenshot-8

I turned back around, both happy that my son had found his forever love and sad that it wasn’t in the cards for me. Time to head home to the family.

Screenshot-9

Later this week, Molly and Megan will be turning 18 and graduating from high school.

As usual, we celebrate the twins’ birthdays with individual cakes. Megan blew out her candles first.

Screenshot-10

As a young adult, Megan became extremely modest, gaining the Never Nude trait. She’s also Disciplined, Eccentric, a Light Sleeper and a Loner. Megan has decided she wants to be a Monster Maker, not a bad career choice for an eccentric loner.

Screenshot-11

Not surprisingly, Molly had asked for the biggest, most expensive cake in the bakery for her birthday. Of course, I bought her the same cake that all her brothers and sisters had received over the years, and she knew better than to turn her nose up at it, at least in my presence.

Screenshot-12

As a young adult, Molly became Eco-Friendly. She is Brave, Loves the Heat and has Star Quality. Unfortunately, Molly is also a Snob. Her ambition is to live the Lifestyle of the Rich and Famous.

Screenshot-13

Graduation day came and went, and my girls were ready to leave the nest. Megan had secured a job, and the twins had agreed to be roommates. Before I knew it, the day had come to say goodbye. I gave Molly a big hug. “I love you, Molly. Remember, there are more important things in life than fame and money.”

“Maybe, but I still want to be rich and famous,” she giggled. “Love you, Mom.”

Screenshot-14

While the triplets said goodbye to Molly, Megan hugged me and said, “I’ll do my best to keep Molly grounded, Mom.”

“Thanks, Meg. Remember to take care of yourself, too.”

Screenshot-15

“Of course I will, Mom.”

“I love you, sweetie.”

“Love you, too, Mom.”

Screenshot-16

While Molly finished regaling the kiddos with tales of how fabulous her future was going to turn out, Megan called the realtor to say they’d be by shortly to pick up the keys to their new apartment.

Screenshot-17

Once again, I watch as my grown children leave to pursue their dreams. It’s bittersweet as always.

And, yet, I’m thinking it’s about time I make a move myself. A new town. A fresh start. Some distance from Jasper sounds like a good idea. He hasn’t been involved much with our boys, and although he’s been good to me, I know there’s an evil side to Jasper, and I want to shield my boys from that.

Screenshot-18

Author’s Note:  Sorry for the long hiatus. My game is painfully slow to play, especially with a family of 8. Each sim I age up and dress via CAS takes me an hour, and I don’t have that kind of time or patience. (I still have 5 kids ready to age up.) I’ve saved Jill’s family to the sim bin and plan to uninstall some games, worlds and stuff packs to see if I can make my game fun to play again. In-game fun = blog updates. 🙂 Wish me luck!

14 thoughts on “Like Father, Like Son

  1. I’m glad to see Jill and her family again. I’ve missed her. Hope you can get your game sorted. ❤️

  2. Hey, Lily! I’m so incredibly happy that you’re back! I LOVE your story so much! Kevin is such a handsome young man, Abrielle is one lucky woman! And Kelly is so adorable! The twins grew up so well, both girls are very pretty. There’s no doubt great genes run in this family 🙂

    I hope you can do something about your game! It’s never fun to play with lags and crashes. Moving to a new town should help. Do you have any idea where you’d like to go next?

  3. I had to prune the expansions myself just to get things rolling again. It was kind of liberating to realize I didn’t need them all. You are absolutely right that you can’t enjoy the blogging side of it if you aren’t even enjoying the game. Very happy that Jill and family have survived!

    • Is it me or did EA make it a lot easier to choose which expansion & stuff packs you want to play? When I decided to make that change, I thought I was going to have to uninstall some of them. I’m glad I was able to make it back as well. It’s hard enough to find time to play and write without all the extra delays. And I am thrilled that you’re back! When I finish responding to your comments (if I’m still awake), I’m anxious to read your new chapter! 🙂

      • They definitely made it easier, letting you select them from the launcher. Then they have some message all like, “if you run this game with all your expansions enabled, don’t come crying when it crashes.” And I thought, finally! A little honesty.

        Don’t sweat the chapter (first days are always so dull) and I am sorry for the commentorrhea, but it’s like Taina said: I have missed this family.

      • OK … good to know I wasn’t crazy or having a bad case of selective memory.

        OMG, don’t you dare apologize for commenting … EVER. You made my day, silly woman! Comments are like GOLD! While I was at work, I could see on my WP app that I was getting comments or likes on my posts. I wanted to stop working immediately and read them all. I couldn’t, of course, but it gave me something to look forward to tonight.

Leave a Reply

