Fairy Rage and Genie Passion

When I got up this morning, I quickly threw on my sweats and tended to my toddlers, who were both still in their cribs. Gavin was awake, but not Gabrielle, so I picked him up, changed his diaper and dressed him, without waking his sister. After we’d made our way out into the kitchen, I tickled his belly, and Gavin let out an adorable giggle. There’s just nothing like the sound of a giggling toddler to start your day out right. Gavin was getting hungry, so I fed him breakfast in his high chair before his giggles could turn into cries.

Image

Gabrielle was awake by now. So, I scooped her up and went through the same sequence, making sure I got a giggle out of her, too, before seating her in her highchair next to her twin. When they finished eating, I put them down on the floor so they could play.

Image

Before giving birth to the twins, I had finished teaching Faith how to walk, talk and use the potty. She was ready to take on elementary school. In the middle of our hectic lives, we took a quick time out for a birthday cake with the family. When Faith aged up into a child, she became an Animal Lover, in addition to being an Evil Slob.

Image

It didn’t take long for Faith’s Evil trait to start rearing its ugly head. Her first victim was her sister Emma, who emerged from the shower with bright aqua blue hair. Needless to say, she wasn’t pleased. I could hear Emma yelling at Faith from behind the bathroom door. I thought to myself, “Faith, better be careful with Evan and Emma. Fairies love to play pranks, and you may just get more than you bargained for.”

Image

At least Faith didn’t target her older brother Dylan. Messing with a werewolf who doesn’t like children would probably not be in her best interest. Not that Dylan would hurt Faith, of course, but he might scare some sense into her. Speaking of Dylan, the fact that he doesn’t like children never stops him from taking care of his littlest siblings when they need him. Deep down, I know he loves them. When I was busy and Gavin woke up from his nap hungry, Dylan picked him up and fed him. He may have just been avoiding Gavin’s inevitable cries, too.

Image

Image

Then again, caring for the toddlers while in his werewolf form, Dylan might’ve scared them as well. It was a little too much for Gabrielle, who fainted after Dylan had carried her out to the living room. Hopefully, she’ll have only fond memories of her brother when she gets older, and she’ll forget these “minor details.”

Image

It was nighttime, and the moon was full, as you can see from Dylan’s appearance. But, he wasn’t the only one who had a chemical attraction to the moon. My fairy twins were particularly energetic when the moon was high in the sky. Emma took the opportunity to give Faith a little payback for the “colorful” shower by chilling her to the bone with her favorite prank.

Image

Once the kiddos were safely tucked in their beds for the night, I changed into a nicer outfit and went out to the Red Velvet Lounge for a little “me” time. I had barely walked in the door when I was greeted by an angry Matt Gardner, father to Evan and Emma.

Image

I hadn’t “officially” told him things were over between us, though I had told him from the start about my intentions. Matt and Keith Parsons are roommates, and Keith had been so excited about becoming a Daddy that he told his buddy Matt about our daughter Faith. While Matt was happy for Keith, he couldn’t help but feel betrayed. I thought we might be able to salvage our friendship, but then the unthinkable happened.

Image

Matt suddenly slapped me right across the face. My face reddened, and it stung, but more than anything, I was shocked that he’d do such a thing. In my family, we were taught that men don’t hit women … period. I walked out of the bar without saying a word, as a tear streamed down my face. I was more embarrassed than physically hurt. Matt had no right to hit me, and I knew that wasn’t my fault. I had never seen Matt behave like that before. Was it the full moon that heightened his emotions? I don’t know. But, I promised myself that I’d do a better job breaking up with former lovers or keeping them in the “friends with benefits” category. I didn’t want anyone else’s feelings getting hurt, including my own. I went home and went straight to bed.

Image

By morning, the full moon had passed, and my household was returning to normal. Dylan started his day with a howl as he transformed back into his human form.

Image

I think the transformation process still scares him a little. Hopefully, he’ll get used to it since it’s a part of who he is. And, there’s the inevitable shedding. I don’t know if I’ll ever be able to get all of Dylan’s hair out of that rug.

Image

While I was changing Gabby’s diaper, the powder accidentally squirted everywhere. I think I scared the poor little tyke. She must’ve thought she’d be swallowed whole by the mysterious white cloud with the sweet smell. Not to worry, my little angel. Mommy will save you.

Image

Once the twins were changed, dressed and fed, I began teaching Gavin to walk.

Image

After he was able to walk on his own, I taught Gavin to talk. I told him we were going to finish up a little early because we were having a birthday party for Dylan and Dakota. Gavin got very excited.

Image

Dylan was anxious to blow out the candles on his birthday cake, but first he had to make a wish.

Image

Once Dylan made his wish and blew out the candles, my beautiful boy spun around and, like magic, he became a handsome young adult.

Image

Dylan has my blond hair with the most gorgeous, piercing blue eyes — a wonderful blend of my eye color and his father Quidel’s werewolf genes. In addition to his existing traits of Light Sleeper, Virtuoso, Ambitious, and Dislikes Children, Dylan is now Hot-Headed. He wants to be the ultimate Rock Star.

Image

Now it was Dakota’s turn to make a wish. Being a perfectionist, it took her a little longer to decide on the perfect wish, but when it came to her, she smiled and blew out the candles.

Image

Dakota has Quidel’s raven locks, and her eyes are pools of bright aqua. As a young adult, Dakota added Unlucky to her existing traits of Light Sleeper, Couch Potato, Artistic and Perfectionist. Dakota wants to be a Master of the Arts (master painting and guitar).

Image

After everyone had a slice of cake and the festivities were over, Faith got an evil look on her face and seemed to be plotting something. I’m still hoping she grows out of that particular trait. It can mean nothing but trouble for my little girl.

Image

Dakota offered to watch the kiddos so I could go out for a while. She knew that being surrounded by a houseful of kids all day could be exhausting, and I could definitely use some down time. So, I headed out in search of some adult company. Before I could even enter the building, I saw Darin Cavazos heading towards his car. I remembered meeting him as he was another of Matt’s roommates. That house was just filled to the brim with eye candy.

I called out, “Hey, Darin. Remember me?” He smiled and came right over. Out of the corner of my eye, I could see a fairy having an animated conversation with herself. As interesting as that was, my eyes were transfixed on Darin and his sweet smile.

Image

“Of course I remember you, Jill. We met at the house,” said Darin. “Are you and Matt still seeing each other?” I tried my best to pretend that Matt and I hadn’t just had a huge blowout and simply said, “No, that’s ancient history, and I’m not seeing anyone right now.” It was pretty obvious that Darin was happy with that answer, as his face lit up at the prospect of me being available.

Image

Darin had flirted with me when we first met, and if I hadn’t been there with his friend, I’m pretty sure he would’ve asked me out. I could see it in his eyes. Unfortunately, it was getting really late, and toddlers don’t wait for Mommies who like to sleep late. So, I told Darin I had to get going, and he said he’d call me.

Image

The next day was Leisure Day, and all the kids were in a good mood because they had the day off from school. Dakota helped me out by teaching her little sis Gabby how to walk. She said, “It’s good practice, Mom. No worries. I hope to have kids one day, too, and because of you, I’ll be better prepared.”

Image

My cell phone rang, and it was Keith Parsons. He was having a pool party that afternoon and invited me and the family over to his house. I said, “Sounds great!” I told Dakota I had run into Darin last night and was secretly hoping he’d be at Keith’s party since they were roommates. Dakota insisted that I go alone and take as much time as I wanted. She said she’d be happy to watch the little ones. I gave her a big hug and told her how much I appreciated her. Then I put on my bikini and drove out to Keith’s house. I found Keith out back, near the pool. “Where are all the kids?” Keith asked. “Dakota offered to take care of them so I could come alone,” I replied.

Image

Keith asked how Faith was doing, and we chatted about her for a few minutes.

Image

Meanwhile, I heard a splash in the pool and saw that it was Darin. When we finished our conversation Keith dove into the pool, and I jumped in right behind him. Considering how big the pool was, I thought it was rather bizarre that we were all bunched up in the middle.

Image

For a few moments, I felt awkward because I wanted to talk to Darin alone, but I could feel Keith’s eyes on me. Keith and I had been friends with benefits, nothing more, but we were still attracted to each other. That was only natural. Darin casually looked off in the distance and waited until we were out of the pool to make a move.

Image

Darin could see that I was pretty tense, though he didn’t know why. He offered to massage my shoulders, and I gratefully accepted. His strong hands made quick work of my achy muscles, and I found myself relaxing under his touch.

Image

Once we’d gotten out of the pool, I could see Darin’s athletic body, and I smiled to myself. I whispered in his ear that he looked hot in his swimsuit.

Image

My bluntness took him by surprise, and he smiled. Even though he was wearing shades, I could see his eyes light up. “Thanks. You’re smokin’ hot yourself! Why do you think I jumped in the pool? A man’s gotta cool down somehow,” he laughed.

Image

“On second thought, I don’t want to cool down,” he said as he pulled me closer to him and planted a passionate kiss on me. I could feel his heart beating as fast as mine.

Image

Luckily, Keith had had the sense to go in the house when Darin gave him “the look.” I didn’t want to make either of them uncomfortable. I told Darin about my goal to have 100 babies, and he finally understood why I had hooked up with two of his friends. “I think I can deal with that,” he said. So, he took my hand and led me into the nearest bedroom. He took off his sunglasses and switched into his pajama bottoms. Finally, I could look into his eyes again without seeing my own reflection.

Image

After gazing into each others’ eyes, we got busy making a baby.

Image

We were like a couple of lovesick teenagers who couldn’t get enough of each other. Just as we were about to christen the loveseat, Matt walked in — without knocking — and we quickly separated to spare his feelings. In my mind, I was thinking, “Nothing to see here. We’re just having a friendly chat. Pay no attention to the unmade bed.”

Image

It seems privacy was hard to come by in this house. Darin took my hand, and I followed him into the living room, where another loveseat beckoned us. We sat down, dangerously close to each other, and looked at each other intently.

Image

Finally, we had a little privacy again, and we took full advantage of it. Mere minutes later, Keith came walking down the stairs in his military uniform. He was on his way to work. He even waved goodbye to us. I guess he wasn’t bothered after all. That was a relief.

Image

After we’d had our fill of each other, I went home to my full house. On the drive home, I couldn’t help but wonder if I’d be lucky enough to have a genie baby, or two, who looked just like their Daddy. That would definitely be OK with me.

12 thoughts on “Fairy Rage and Genie Passion

    • Keith’s timing and reaction was an unexpected, but pleasant surprise. The genie question will be answered in the next post. I’ll probably explain what happened on the Author’s Notes page.

Leave a Reply

