Magic’s in the Air

Aleister’s Elixirs is a magic shop dedicated to the study of alchemy, also known as witchcraft. So, it would be no surprise to find witches and witch-wannabes frequenting the shop. As I approached the handsome man, I wondered if he might be a witch. “Hi, I’m Jill Thomas. Cool shop, huh?” I said.

Image

The man looked a little surprised and said, “Hi, I’m Dante Thomas. Are we related?” We discussed our family histories and determined that we definitely weren’t related. After all, we mused, Thomas is a very common name. Besides, Dante is a descendant of a long line of powerful witches, and all my ancestors were human.

Image

I told Dante about my goal to have 100 babies and asked if he’d like to be a part of it. I assured him I was only interested in his genetic material and didn’t want a relationship. “We can be friends with benefits,” I said with a wink. “As long as we can keep things as simple as that, count me in,” smiled Dante. We headed back to my place, and as soon as the kiddos were asleep, Dante and I started our gradual progression towards the bedroom. First, we kissed in the kitchen.

Image

Once we were behind closed doors in the bedroom, we shed most of our clothing and kissed more passionately. Dante held me tight, and I could feel his muscular chest up against mine. He enveloped me in his warmth.

Image

We kissed our way over to the edge of the bed. Dante laid me down gently, then we scooted under the covers, and the baby-making began.

Image

I started to peek my head out from under the covers, but Dante pulled me back under. Knowing this was a one-night stand, he wanted to take full advantage of our time together, which was fine by me. Before drifting off to sleep, we cuddled on the bed.

Image

The next morning, Dante practiced magic in the entryway. As I watched him, I wondered if our baby(ies) would be born with powers like their Daddy.

Image

Meanwhile, Chloe and Evan played fairy games with each other. One minute they were tiny specks of light flying around…

Image

…and the next they morphed back to their physical selves again, giggling.

Image

After Dante left, we went back to our normal routine. I potty-trained Faith.

Image

I played with her like I had done with all my other children. There were no outward signs that this adorable toddler was evil. I won’t believe it until I see it with my own eyes.

Image

Colton and Chloe had lunch together. I was happy to see they were getting along. I knew that their birthdays were right around the corner and that they’d have to move out together very soon.

Image

My littlest fairies continued to play tricks on each other. Emma was usually the perpetrator, and her twin Evan was her favorite target.

Image

Evan was a pretty good sport about it, even though the chattering teeth prank chilled him to the bone.

Image

I spent some one-on-one time with Dakota while we watched Kidzone on TV. I had to admit, I still love cartoons.

Image

Both Colton and Chloe had achieved A’s in high school, and they were anxious to celebrate their birthday. First up to blow out her candles was Chloe.

Image

As a young adult, Chloe added Nurturing to her other traits of Easily Impressed, Good, Vehicle Enthusiast and Party Animal. I guess all that time helping out with her siblings had a positive affect on her. Chloe’s lifetime wish is to be a Rock Star.

Image

Colton was up next, becoming a Natural Born Performer. His other traits include Loner, Good, Good Sense of Humor and Loves the Outdoors. Colton had been working on his writing skills as a teenager and plans to become a Professional Author.

Image

In fact, soon after the party, Colton made the call to register himself as a self-employed writer. I was proud of my son for taking control of his life at such a young age. At the same time, the full moon had risen in the sky, causing Dylan to transform into a werewolf once again. His own twin still became terrified every time this happened. I’d hoped that by now, at least Dakota would’ve become accustomed to Dylan’s “quirks.”

Image

Later that night, Emma had asked her big sister for a bedtime story, and Dakota happily obliged. Apparently, fairies don’t frighten her like werewolves do. I suppose there’s a big difference between pointy ears and sharp, pointy fangs.

Image

That evening, Chase had called to invite me to a party at his house. Since we were supposedly friends now, I decided to attend. When I arrived, I was surprised to see that I was the only guest. Tiny alarm bells were going off in my head.

Image

I told Chase about my pregnancy, and he seemed genuinely happy for me, like any friend would be. He asked if he could feel my baby bump, and I said it was OK. His eyes lit up when he felt the baby kick.

Image

Chase could see that I was arching my back to help carry the front-heavy baby weight. He asked if I’d like a back massage. I replied, “I’d love one, just as long as that’s all it is, OK?” Chase agreed and gently, but firmly, began massaging my back. I could feel my muscles start to relax.

Image

Chase then moved his strong hands to my shoulders and released the built-up tension there as well.

Image

When Chase finished, I stretched myself out like a tired cat on a comfortable rug. Chase’s party may have been a dud or just a ruse to hang out with me, but it certainly worked in my favor. Chase had incredible hands, and he’d kept his promise and behaved … for a change, I smiled to myself. Maybe we could be friends after all.

Image

Now that I was finally relaxed and the pain in my back was gone, I thanked Chase, then went home. As I was driving across town, I thought about Colton and Chloe who would be graduating from high school tomorrow. Two more of my children will be leaving the nest to make room for the new addition(s) to the family who should be joining us any day now. Even with so much on my mind, thanks to Chase’s massage, I was relaxed enough to sleep like a baby, and with a houseful of kids, sleep is a precious commodity.

9 thoughts on “Magic’s in the Air

  1. Just caught up =D Absolutely LOVE this! Usually I don’t like first-person narratives, but it’s really entertaining here.

    (And how do you handle all those kids in one household? They’d drive me mad!)

    • Thanks, Becki! It’s my first time writing a story, so I’m just winging it. As for the kids, I guess that’s why it’s a challenge. 😛 I do love sim kiddos, but too many fairy pranksters in one house can be tough on the nerves.

  2. In retrospect, Jill’s faith in Faith is so bittersweet. (I’ll probably go back and read these chronologically once I’m back to the beginning, but it’s kind of fun going in reverse!) As for winging it, that seems to be working wonderfully–I would never have guessed you hadn’t written a story before.

    • Haha! I could never read a story in reverse. Any time I pick up a new blog, I have to start at the beginning, no matter how long it is. Thanks for the compliment (and for reading)! I’m enjoying the process. 😀

    • Generally, once the kids have moved out, Jill only interacts with them if they call & invite her over or she runs into them in town. In later posts, you’ll see that some readers asked for updates on specific kids. (Twins & triplets always share a home when I kick them out.) For those posts, I switched to their household & made a new save so I could control them. But Jill wasn’t part of those updates. Does that help at all?

Leave a Reply

