Hard to Say, “Goodbye”

Last night was full of mixed emotions. It was a proud moment as I watched my firstborn twins turn into young adults. It was mixed with sadness, though, because I knew that meant they’d be leaving home. I put those thoughts aside for the moment and got my day started. When I walked into the kitchen, Benjamin was shoveling pancakes into his mouth as if he hadn’t eaten for days. Instead of getting upset with him, I smiled to myself, as I remembered watching his big brother Aiden eating the very same way. Funny how the things that annoy us are usually those that we miss the most when someone’s gone. Gone … how will I ever find the courage to say goodbye?

Image

I was enjoying the walk down memory lane when suddenly contractions hit. Reality came rushing back and I was most definitely in the present again. It was time to head to the hospital and bring home my newest bundle(s) of joy. This was it. I was having Quidel’s baby(ies)! Between the grimaces from pain were smiles. I was beyond excited. Quidel met me at the hospital and stayed with me through labor and delivery. I gave birth to a beautiful set of twins – a boy, Dylan, and a girl, Dakota.

Image

Dylan was born a Light Sleeper and Virtuoso and had my blonde hair and his father’s piercing eyes.

Image

Dakota was also a Light Sleeper and was destined to be a Couch Potato. Dakota had Quidel’s dark coloring and was simply an adorable baby girl.

Image

While Dylan and Dakota napped and Benjamin was in school, it was time for Colton and Chloe to age up. They had both learned all their skills and were ready to take on elementary school.

As Colton became a child, he gained a Good Sense of Humor to add to his Loner and Good traits. He looked even more like his father, Branch, now.

Image

Chloe added Vehicle Enthusiast to her Easily Impressed and Good traits. She, too, resembled Branch but not quite as much as her twin.

Image

It was just starting to get dark out, and I knew I had delayed the inevitable for as long as possible. It was time for Aiden and Ava to move out and find a home of their own. It was going to be hard to let go, but I was proud of my firstborn twins and knew they’d be fine without me. So, I gave them both hugs and we said our goodbyes.

Image

As I walked back up the porch steps, I felt a tear run down my cheek. I quickly brushed it away so the other kiddos wouldn’t see it.

Image

Then the cycle began again as I started potty training Dylan and Dakota without my two biggest helpers.

Image

Image

The following day, Benjamin helped me start teaching the twins to talk. Benjamin was the man of the house now, an honor he bestowed upon himself when Aiden left. He told me he’d help me out in any way he could, because he could see how hard it was to raise a house full of kids.

Image

Meanwhile, Chloe was having fun in the living room, testing out her fairy wings. I could hear her giggling and saying, “I can fly!” I think she liked being the only child in the house with special powers.

Image

It was getting to be bedtime, so I changed the twins into their sleepwear and put them in their cribs. I kissed Dylan on the forehead, and he went to sleep without a fuss.

Image

Dakota, on the other hand, wanted to stay up just a little bit longer and looked at me with those big doe eyes that almost made me say yes … almost. But, I was tired, too, so off to bed I went.

Image

The next morning, I realized it was Leisure Day. I’d almost forgotten about it, but the kids reminded me. They were excited to have the day off from school. In fact, everyone seemed to be in a better mood because of it. I got an invitation from Matt Gardner to his annual pool party, and I gladly accepted it. Benjamin said he’d watch the kiddos for me so I could have some fun for a change. Of course, I was thinking Matt would make a great Baby Daddy, and this would give us a chance to hook up without the kids around. When I got to Matt’s house, I found out he had several good-looking roommates. I introduced myself to Darin Cavazos, the first roommate I met.

Image

While Darin was flirting with me, I also caught a glimpse of another cutie by the name of Keith Parsons. Note to self – remember these guys. They’ve got some good genes to pass along.

Image

Then Matt came over and said, “Hey, cutie.” He had been swimming in the backyard pool and was happy to see that I’d made it to his party. I whispered into Matt’s ear, asking him if I could spend the night and telling him about my baby-making plans.

Image

Matt was all in favor of baby-making and was in no rush to see me go home. The deal was sealed with a passionate kiss.

Image

I was really hungry and could smell the hot dogs that one of Matt’s roommates had cooked. So, I grabbed a plate and made myself at home. While I was eating, Lew Garoo, a handsome guy with a very hairy chest, looked on. He was another of Matt’s roommates. Man, this place was full of eye candy. Focus, Jill … focus. You’re here to see Matt, I reminded myself.

Image

When Matt saw that I’d finished eating, he came over and gave me that come-hither look with those baby blue eyes.

Image

The sparks between us quickly turned into a blazing fire, and we ended up getting steamy in the shower. We didn’t even make it to the bed. Nothing like killing two birds with one stone. Not only did we make a baby, but we both came out squeaky clean.

Image

The following morning, I left Matt’s house before the break of dawn to make sure the kids could get off to school on time without worrying about the little ones. I let Dylan and Dakota out of their cribs, fed them breakfast and then went back to bed for a little while. I hadn’t gotten much sleep last night, though I didn’t seem to mind.

I awoke to loud scratching sounds coming from within my own bedroom. I was surprised to see Dylan frantically scratching at the artist’s easel. I didn’t know what to make of it. None of my other toddlers had ever done that before. I wonder if there’s any connection to his glowing eyes – eyes like his father, Quidel, about whom many rumors had been told. I dismissed it as nonsense. Like any mom would do, I redirected Dylan to a toy, and he went and played with it, happy as a clam.

Image

When the older kids got home from school, Chloe played peek-a-boo with Dylan. I could hear them both giggling and thought how nice it was that they were having fun together.

Image

Later that day, I started teaching Dylan to walk. That’s right, son – just put one foot in front of the other.

Image

Meanwhile, Colton and Chloe decided to work out with a fitness program on TV.

Image

When the weekend rolled around, Chloe was up to her old tricks again, playing the “chattering teeth” prank on unsuspecting Colton. He was not happy about it … not happy at all.

Image

I told Chloe to find a more productive use for her time, like reading a skill book. She sighed but did as she was told. I, on the other hand, was making plans … big plans … plans that would affect the whole family.

12 thoughts on “Hard to Say, “Goodbye”

  1. Looking forward to seeing what those BIG plans are! Great story, I am really enjoying it!!

    My, my. Jill is super lucky in attracting gorgeous guys and having beautiful children, too. The guys are obviously not game generated, too good looking and nicely dressed. Are they/will they be available in case any other females wish to meet them? <>

  2. Double yay! My first comment — woot! Secondly, I’m glad you’re enjoying my story. My BIG plans should be revealed today. As for Jill’s mates, they’re from our mutual friends. Just check out the Baby Daddies page for those who have already fathered children and the Add’l Sims & Clothing page for any potential Baby Daddies who’ve been mentioned in the story so far. Download links have been included for ALL. 🙂 If you’d like to “donate” anyone, just let me know!

    • Oops! LOL… that’ll teach me NOT to take a more careful look at the tab section up at the top of the page before opening my mouth. ((rolls eyes)) As soon as I saw Quidel and Matt, I knew they were familiar because I HAD seen them before. Handsome men indeed…

      I might create someone who could apply for the “donation” process but you are entirely welcome to peek at the men in my studio and see if any appeal to Jill 😉

  3. So fun to see the sparks flying between Jill and her future baby daddies here, and as always, I love her pragmatism–“Nothing like killing two birds with one stone. Not only did we make a baby, but we both came out squeaky clean.” Busy moms can’t waste time. 😀

    • Hahaha! It’s always fun to have Jill do a little “window shopping” for other Baby Daddies on the way to meet her intended. Sparks were flying with two out of three of Matt’s roommates. (Jill was too busy eating a hot dog when Lew walked by.) ;D

  4. LOL little Dylan scratching up the furniture. I like that name Dylan. Boy am I glad I don’t have a fairy living with me, I’d be so mad if they made me cold all the time, the weather makes me cold already… XD Oh wow, so many guys at Matt’s house, that’s great.

    • That “chattering teeth” prank gets really annoying! I had to cancel the action a lot of times because they do it all the time.

      I set up a few of the larger houses in MF with roommates so I could fit more eligible bachelors in town. That’s why some houses, like Matt’s, have lots of potential Baby Daddies in it. 😉

  5. Omg it didn’t occur to me that Quidel (sorry if the spelling is wrong) could be a werewolf! LOL. And this is why I need to play more supernatural sims. I want to see a toddler hover and scratch at things! Do you know if vampire, genie, or witch babies (I have a baby witch but never see anything strange) have special moves too?

    • I haven’t played a vampire baby yet, but I definitely will. I think they learn skills faster at night but will have to confirm that. As for genies and witches, I don’t remember them being able to do anything special until they become children. Supes are fun to play, and I love mixing it up! Thanks for reading & commenting.

Leave a Reply

