Pranks and Progress

As a remembrance of the lovely night I’d had with Branch, I woke to the familiar feeling of nausea. Unfortunately, our one bathroom was in use, and I had to go outside and vomit in the yard. So much for staying under the radar. Once the kids were done in the bathroom, I took a shower and put on a pair of sweats and a loose T-shirt. My regular clothes were already getting a little tight.

Image

When I came out into the kitchen, I caught Aiden licking his plate clean. Finally, I had evidence of what the other kiddos had been telling me.

Image

I was upset with Aiden and called him a slob. I could hear Benjamin trying to talk to Ava about art, but Ava shushed him and said, “Eat your cake.” I’m sure she just wanted to hear Aiden get in trouble.

Image

Aiden didn’t like being called a slob, even though he was one. I told him I’d raised him better than that and said he’d better use his manners from now on. He said he was sorry.

Image

Unbeknownst to me, Ava had woken up on the wrong side of the bed and was having mood swings. I caught her trying to booby trap the sink and told her, “Don’t you dare, young lady!”

Image

Ava said she’d behave, but as soon as I’d turned my back, she was back at the sink again, working her mischief.

Image

That was the last straw. I told Ava to go to time out for 20 minutes. She looked sorry … sorry that she’d been caught.

Image

So, Ava spent the next 20 minutes standing in front of the bedroom window. She brushed the occasional tear from her eye, but I wasn’t letting her off the hook. Ava needed to learn her lesson. Finally, Ava’s mood swing passed, and she was back to her sweet self again.

Image

Word had gotten around town that I was pretty handy with a screwdriver and a wrench. In fact, Kenji Lee had asked if I could upgrade his stereo for him. He said he’d pay me, and we could certainly use the money. So, the next morning, I upgraded Kenji’s stereo and delivered it to him.

Image

Kenji was happy to get his stereo back, and we had a nice little chat. I found out that Kenji is family oriented, just like me. I told him I was pregnant, and he was genuinely happy for me.

Image

As I was about to head home, I noticed a handsome fairy walking by. I introduced myself, and we immediately hit it off. He said his name was Matt Gardner, and he was single. He said I looked radiant. That was music to my ears.

Image

We watched the stars, and Matt pointed out a particularly shiny star. He said that’s where fairies come from. I wanted to hear more, but it was getting late, and I was tired. Matt and I said our goodbyes, and I went home.

Image

A few days later, I went to the consignment shop to sell a few items. I ran into Marco, and things didn’t go well. He looked at me, pregnancy in full bloom, and accused me of cheating.

Image

I couldn’t deny it. I mean, look at me. But, I reminded Marco that being together was a one-time thing and he had agreed to that up front. Still, I told him I understood that his feelings were hurt, and asked if we could still be friends. I think the look on Marco’s face says it all.

Image

Later that evening, I went into labor. The kiddos were freaking out. I drove myself to the hospital, and Branch met me there.

Image

I gave birth to an adorable set of twins – Colton and Chloe. Colton resembles his Daddy, don’t you think?

Image

As for Chloe, well, she got a pretty special gift from her Daddy – a pair of beautiful green wings.

Image

The teens were being really helpful with their little siblings, and I appreciated that. I offered to teach Aiden and Ava to drive, and Aiden let his sister go first. He was still trying to make up for being a slob. Aiden said he’d even help teach Chloe how to talk while we were out.

Image

This was my first time teaching someone to drive, and Ava did amazingly well. I only hit my imaginary brakes half a dozen times – not bad for Ava’s first time behind the wheel. The car was a recent purchase, thanks to the child support payments from Chase and Marco. I’d already upgraded some of our appliances, and the kids had what they needed for the most part. It just wasn’t practical to have this many kids and no vehicle. It didn’t leave us with much cash, but we’d make do. We always did.

Image

When we got home, I could see Benjamin was pretending to be a Nascar driver. He wore a helmet and was making noises like, “vroom-vroom” and “errrrrrr” as if race car tires were screeching around a corner. Yes, Benjamin, one day I’ll teach you to drive, too.

Image

Since I had teenagers at home to watch the little ones, I drove to the local bar for some much-needed adult conversation. When I walked in, I saw a tall, dark, handsome man behind the bar. It was him … it was HIM! Quidel Blackhawk, local celebrity. I managed not to squeal like a schoolgirl, but it wasn’t easy. I was finally going to make my move. Step aside, people. I’m on a mission….

Image

8 thoughts on “Pranks and Progress

  1. Pingback: Aside: Distractions! | My Sims 3 Challenges

    • Yes! The man of the hour appears to whet your appetite. Thanks for reading so much in one day. I’m in the middle of trying to write the next chapter, but I get so giddy when I get comments that I have to stop what I’m doing and respond if I’m on my laptop. Enjoy the rest of your day! 😀

Leave a Reply

