And, Baby Makes Three

Today was going to be a busy day. Tomorrow was Aiden and Ava’s birthday, and I had errands to run. I had a newborn in the house now, too, which complicated things a bit. I quickly fed the twins their breakfast and gave Benjamin a bottle.

Image

I went out to the mailbox and paid my bills. From this point on, there would be no more bills and, for that, I was extremely grateful. Chase had been very generous in making regular child support payments for the twins, and I was able to pay off the mortgage without depleting my savings. Also in the mailbox was a letter from Chase that said, “You. Me. It’s happening. Don’t tell me you can’t feel it.” I can honestly say I hadn’t led him on. Chase would always be special to me because he was my first, but I promised myself I wouldn’t become attached to any one Baby Daddy. Chase knew that.

Image

I watered the apple tree in the backyard that had been wilting from neglect. Then I called a babysitter to stay with the kids. I went to the grocery store and then to Aleister’s Elixirs to harvest honey from the bee hives. I wanted to put the honey on consignment right away, but the store was closed. So, I put it in my backpack and went home. I fed the kids and put them all to bed, then turned in for the night.

Image

The next morning, while Benjamin was sleeping, we celebrated Aiden’s birthday. In addition to being a Virtuoso and a Slob, Aiden was now an Animal Lover.

Image

Image

Then I taught Ava how to walk. When she finally got the hang of it, Ava beamed with pride, knowing she could now do anything her brother could do.

Image

When it was Ava’s turn to blow out the candles on her cake, Aiden cheered her on.  Besides being Absent-Minded and a Heavy Sleeper, Ava also Loves the Outdoors now.

Image

Image

I had ordered bunk beds for the twins, and the delivery men set them up and helped me to move the extra two cribs and potty chair into storage as well. Aiden and Ava had outgrown their cribs, but still had to share a bedroom with Benjamin. It wasn’t ideal, but we had to make do. Tomorrow was the twins’ first day of school, so bedtime came early.

4 thoughts on “And, Baby Makes Three

Leave a Reply

