Good Husband Material

When I woke up, I felt queasy. Could it be that I’m pregnant again? Sure enough, I had to make a mad dash to the bathroom. Since all I’d eaten the day before was leftover birthday cake, I was pretty sure this was morning sickness.

Image

While I wasn’t feeling so well, Marco was kind enough to help with the twins’ morning routine. He took Ava out of her crib and placed her down gently on the floor to play.

Image

Then he picked up Aiden and made him giggle by pretending to be a giant claw and tickling his belly.

Image

I changed the twins’ clothes and sat them down in their high chairs for breakfast. When they had finished, Marco picked up Ava, tickled her belly and then put her down so she could play.

Image

Marco was so good with the twins – I never even had to ask him for help. He would’ve made great husband material. Unfortunately, that wasn’t in the cards for us. Marco got dressed, then picked up Aiden from his highchair. To my surprise, Marco started heading out the door with Aiden in his arms. He said he had some things to do and had to go home. OK, Marco, but Aiden stays here, silly. Besides, I thought, you don’t even have a potty chair at your house.

Image

I guess Marco hadn’t gotten much sleep last night because he wasn’t thinking clearly. And, with that, Marco put Aiden down in the grass so he could play outside, and then he went home.

Image

I went out to get the mail and came across a letter from Marco. It read, “I’ve been wanting to tell you for a while now – I just didn’t know how. I love you, Jill.” How incredibly sweet! No wonder he was so happy I’d invited him over yesterday. If I’d have checked the mail sooner, I would’ve known how he felt before he’d arrived.

Image

I picked up Aiden and brought him back inside so I could keep a better eye on him and Ava.

Image

Just as my cell phone started to ring, I felt another wave of nausea come over me. “Whoever it is, you’re going to have to wait,” I said to myself, and I ran to the bathroom. Ugh. Morning sickness is the worst. I suppose it means good news, though.

Image

Still, a mother’s work is never done, so I’ve got to power through. Aiden can walk now, but I need to teach him how to talk. We spent some time practicing together, and he can speak a few words, but not full sentences yet. “Yes, honey, if you eat your vegetables, you’ll grow up to be a big, strong boy. That’s vegetables … ve-ge-ta-bles. Good job, Aiden.”

Image

It was getting near the twins’ bedtime, so I gave them each a bottle after they’d used the potties.

Image

While they were busy with their bedtime feeding, I grabbed another piece of birthday cake. Next time, I should throw the twins a birthday party so I don’t have to eat all this cake by myself.

Image

9 thoughts on “Good Husband Material

    • I’m probably dating myself here, but I remember an episode from The Cosby Show where Bill Cosby was talking about the nutritional value of chocolate cake for breakfast (which is what he had fed his kids in his wife’s absence). Hey, it’s got flour and eggs and milk … how bad can THAT be? LOL. Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

