Cleanup on Aisle 7

After last night’s house fire, I knew today was going to be a long day. The babies always come first, so they went to bed with full bellies and got a good night’s sleep. I went to bed hungry, exhausted and knowing I’d be facing a major cleanup when I woke up. I got up while the babies were still asleep and grabbed some leftover pancakes from the fridge. They were cold but, frankly, I didn’t care. I needed sustenance.

Image

I was doing the dishes when I heard Aiden cry. I gave him a bottle and then snuggled with him. Last night was a close one, and I was grateful we’d all survived the ordeal.

Image

Ava was awake in her crib, but looked very tired. I hugged her, assured her Mommy’s still here and put her down for her nap.

Image

Then I went out and faced the mess in our kitchen and living room. I started mopping the soot off the floor. The smell was horrendous. I looked over at our kitchen table and chairs and knew they were a total loss.

Image

I put the table and chairs out with the trash and continued mopping the floor until there was no trace of last night’s fire. Then I went back to bed while the babies were sleeping.

Image

Chase had been great about making regular child support payments, which was a big help to our financial situation. I made a call to a local furniture store and asked if they could deliver a new kitchen table and four chairs, along with two high chairs and potties for the babies. I was excited to hear that they could deliver them that very afternoon. You see, we never got to finish Aiden’s birthday celebration.

Then I called the grocery store and told them about the faulty candle and the resulting disaster. They apologized profusely and said they’d deliver another cake right away. The store manager assured me that 99% of the time, their candles work fine.

Image

When the delivery men came with the furniture, they set up the kitchen table and chairs for me. I asked them to temporarily place the high chairs in the babies’ room. I wanted to believe the grocery store manager, but I wasn’t taking any chances with our new high chairs being in the kitchen, just in case.

Image

I helped Aiden blow out his birthday candle and then held my breath while nothing bad happened. Phew!

Image

I put Aiden on the floor and watched as he turned into a toddler before my very eyes. “He has my blonde hair, too,” I said as I beamed with pride.

Image

Just then I heard Ava wailing from the bedroom. Ava doesn’t just cry. I could tell she was hungry. She was stomping her feet and shaking the rails on her crib.

Image

I quickly grabbed the high chairs and set them up side by side in the kitchen. I put Ava in hers first and gave her a bowl of baby food. Then I picked up Aiden, put him in the other high chair and fed him as well. Seeing the twins sitting side by side, I could see how much they resembled each other.

Image

Ava finished before Aiden, and when she did, she immediately let me know she wanted OUT! I put her down on the floor and she happily played by herself.

Image

When Aiden finished eating, I started potty training him. Then he was free to play.

Image

And that meant I finally had a minute to myself to grab some food. There was lots of birthday cake in the fridge, and I didn’t feel like cooking. So, cake for dinner sounded like a fine idea to me.

Image

While Aiden and Ava were happily playing on the floor, I took a short nap on the loveseat. I just couldn’t stay awake any longer. It definitely helped, at least a little.

Image

Then it was time to start potty training Ava. She didn’t give me a bit of trouble, thank goodness.

Image

Finally, it was bedtime for everyone. I put a fresh diaper on Ava and put her to bed with a kiss on her forehead.

Image

Then it was Aiden’s turn. Clean diaper, jammies on, kiss on the forehead. Goodnight, my sweet babies. Mommy’s going to pass out in her bed now. I sighed heavily. Will I ever have a social life again?

Image

11 thoughts on “Cleanup on Aisle 7

    • LOL. Don’t worry TOO much about Jill. She eventually gets better at striking a balance between taking care of the kids and having a social life. When you get to current posts, you won’t be saying, ‘poor Jill’ any more. 😉

Leave a Reply

