Meet Aiden and Ava!

I woke up famished. I was eating for two, after all. I was just about to make myself some pancakes when the first contraction hit. Yowza! It caught me by surprise. So, that’s what labor feels like. And, I get to feel that pain 100 times?!?

Image

Holy moley … there goes another one! This baby was not kidding around.

Image

I quickly got dressed and rushed to the hospital.

Image

Chase was at work when he got a call from a friend at the hospital saying I was in labor and en route to the hospital. He got there as fast as possible so he could be in the delivery room. And, he arrived in the nick of time.

Image

Our baby boy was born that sunny Thursday morning, and we named him Aiden. Aiden was born with the Virtuoso trait, and will also be a Slob. Chase was beaming with pride as he held his son for the first time. Suddenly, I felt contractions again. Wait … shouldn’t the pain be over now? “Not yet,” the doctor said. “You have another baby to deliver.” Minutes later, Aiden’s twin sister was born. We named her Ava. Ava was born a Heavy Sleeper and is also Absent-Minded.

Image

Chase really wanted to come over and help me with the babies, but he had to go back to work at the police station. Because the hospital knew I couldn’t carry both babies on my own, they hired me a babysitter who took Ava from Chase after he exited the hospital. She was a teenage fairy named Nicky Snitcher. The nurse assured me she was qualified to handle a newborn.

Image

When I got home, I was still starving. I hadn’t had breakfast, and I’d certainly burned a few calories giving birth. I was holding Aiden, and he was hungry, too. Good mommies always feed their babies before themselves.

Image

I gave Aiden a bottle, and he was a happy boy again.

Image

Even though I was fairly new in town, I’d started becoming somewhat of a celebrity, albeit a low-level one. I found out quickly that being a celebrity has its downside. I hadn’t even put Aiden in his crib before the rumors hit the fan about me having a baby out of wedlock. I wasn’t going to let that bother me, not after having given birth to a beautiful set of twins. I put Aiden into his new crib, just as Nicky was putting Ava into hers.

Image

It was late morning now, and I was still famished. I made pancakes for breakfast but burned them to a crisp. Argh.

Image

Instead of cooking again, I made a simple peanut butter & jelly sandwich and sat down to eat. It wasn’t until then that I realized that the vase of daisies I’d picked at the festival was too big for my tiny table. After I washed the dishes, I removed the vase.

Image

While I was eating lunch and the twins were in their cribs, Nicky played with the Loch Ness toy I’d won at the summer festival. For a teenager, she was acting rather childish. As long as she took good care of the babies, that’s all that mattered to me. Since I was going to have to shell out $75 for a babysitter, I decided to get my money’s worth.

Image

First, though, I had to hold my baby girl. Isn’t she a cutie-pie? Yeah, I know. They all look alike at this age. You just wait and see.

Image

Anyway, I had been invited to enter a cooking contest and hadn’t had a chance yet to make my entry. I whipped up a batch of mac & cheese because who doesn’t love that?! Plus, it’s one of the few things I know how to make.

Image

I delivered it to the grocery store and was awarded the $50 first prize. Woot! While I was there, I picked up two birthday cakes for the twins. We were going to have a family celebration tomorrow.

Image

As Nicky was leaving, I told her I’d won first prize in the cooking contest. She said, “Congratulations,” and then went on her way.

Image

It was time for Ava’s feeding, so I gave her a bottle, snuggled with her a bit and then put her to bed.

Image

Chase called and asked how the babies were doing. He also sent me a check for $200 in child support. I thanked him and said I’d use it to buy something for the babies.

Image

Before I hit the sack myself, I checked in on my sleeping beauties and thought how lucky I am. It had been a long day, but a miraculous one at that. I went to bed with a smile on my face.

Image

20 thoughts on “Meet Aiden and Ava!

  1. Oh man, that “child out of wedlock” moodlet. *rolls eyes* Sicily gets that all the time, it’s so dumb, even though she’s had like over 20 children already. LOL. You’d think the Sim world would just be like, “oh it’s that lady, well that’s normal for her” XD

    • It’s a feature of Twallan’s Story Progression. I explained some details on the Author’s Notes page. The basic idea is the father sends $100 per child every few days; $500 per child if the father is rich (a 5x multiple). You can customize the amount, but that’s the default. I didn’t realize it when I started the challenge, but since it makes sense in real life, I decided to go with it.

  2. dood! I find something new I love about Twallan’s mods all the time! That’s a cool function to have, and really does make a lot of sense! Even if I didn’t have the mod I’d probably cheat to simulate that idea now that you mention it 🙂

  3. I just love the story progression for the child support, I downloaded it for my new challenge, just waiting to see if it works after she has her first baby!

    Ps. I’m rereading the challenge again, just love it!

    • I love Twallan’s Story Progression, too. It adds so much more depth to the game. I wish my game didn’t take such a performance hit from it, though. I run it on a laptop. I’m sure you’ll enjoy SP! Good luck with your new challenge. If you post the url, I’ll check it out.

      Thanks for the compliment. I really need to get back into playing again and posting updates.

  4. What? She didn’t want to eat the crispy burnt waffles? lol! Poor thing! Got all the way out of the hospital and had another baby. Surprise! As for the fairy babysitter, I guess Jill’s right, as long as she does her job, but she’s not the friendliest thing. Good to see that Chase is a good guy who supports his kids. 🙂

    • I can’t bear to watch a sim eat burnt food, no matter how hungry they are. Too gross! LOL … Jill was still on the delivery table when the doctor told her she had another baby to deliver. She hadn’t left the hospital. Apparently, I made that clear as mud. 😉 Thanks for reading & commenting!

  5. Naaaw they’re SO cute! Wouldn’t it be nice if she chose a baby daddy who was totally loaded? Then she wouldn’t have to worry about money…I like the names you chose too 🙂

    • Thanks! If only it was that easy. Part of the challenge is that Jill has to make her own money without technically having a job. Because I use Twallan’s Story Progression (which I highly recommend), Jill does get child support from her baby daddies until the kids become young adults. She gets a higher amount from rich baby daddies, which would make sense in real life, too. Thanks for reading & commenting!

Leave a Reply

